The LIBER Award for Library Innovation was instituted by LIBER with support from Elsevier. It recognizes the three abstracts which best describe innovative work within the overall theme of the Annual Conference ‘Research Libraries in the 2020 Information Landscape’.

The criteria (in order of importance) for the Award are:

  • Level of innovation
  • Impact on the wider library community
  • Originality
  • Quality of the abstract

The three abstracts which best fulfil these criteria are selected by the Conference Programme Committee. The Award comprises the opportunity to present the winning paper at the 2014 LIBER Annual Conference in Riga, Latvia, free Conference registration, and travel expenses and accommodation*. The three winners will receive their Awards during a short ceremony at the LIBER Annual Conference in Riga.

The Conference Programme Committee for the 43rd LIBER Annual Conference has decided to present the 2014 LIBER Award for Library Innovation to:

Thomas Jouneau, Université de Lorraine, France
AnalogIST/ezPAARSE: Analysing Locally Gathered Logfiles to Determine Users’ Accesses to Subscribed e-Resources.

Laurence Bebbington, University of Aberdeen, UK
Whose Property Is It Anyway? Part 1: How Do Changes to UK Copyright Law Enhance Access to Research and Stimulate Green Open Access to Scholarly Research Outputs?
Chris Banks, Imperial College London, United Kingdom
Whose Property is it Anyway? Part 2: the Challenges in Supporting the UK’s Main Research Funder Agendas, which Seek to Ensure that the Outputs from Publicly-Funded Research are Published Open Access.

Melanie Dulong de Rosnay, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, Paris, France
The Regulation of Text and Data Mining.

We congratulate all the Award winners and look forward to presenting them with their Awards at the Annual Conference in Riga this summer!

Kristiina Hormia-Poutanen
Conference Programme Committee

April  2014

*The value of each Award is € 1,000, including the Conference registration fee.